Guest Post:Janet Lane Walters

Janet Lane Walters is a fellow Romance writer! She agreed to trade hosting with me–I will be appearing on her blog this week and she is guesting here. I love finding out about other writers–its always inspiring.
 janetlanewalters
Primary genre you write (or plural) Romance, Mystery and Fantasy
When did you start writing I’ve written all my life, much unpublishable and mainly starts of stories.
When did you consider yourself a professional writer? In 1968 my first short story was published. That was the day when I considered myself a pro. Though I did take some time off in the late 1970s until the 1980s to return to nursing to help educate for children. During that time I looked forward to returning to my real profession, sketching ideas and gathering experiences since many of my stories involve medicine.
What was your last book published? 
Last one Seducing the Baker came out just this past February.
Can you tell a little about it?
 She was the only girl to turn him down. What will happen when business and a wedding bring them together again.


Jules Grayson was a player as a teen and that hasn’t changed. Business and a friend’s wedding join to bring him to the place where his life had imploded and where his trust issues began. A Ponzi scheme and a suicide forced him into a group home he hated. For ten years he has avoided returning. 

Grace Sutton is faced with a dilemma added to by the appearance of Jules in her Sweet and Spicy Cupcake bakery. Years ago she turned Jules down but she had a crush. His appearance erodes the vow she made years ago. Men had used her mother and led the woman into drugs and alcohol. Grace vowed to forego relationships with men until she could support herself. Though the bakery is making money, she doesn’t feel secure. When Jules arrives with a contract for a magazine feature, she is conflicted and attracted.

How did the idea for the story pop up? This is the sixth in a series about six friends and how they discovered love. In The Baker story, the hero and heroine knew each other in the past. Part of the idea for the story came from watching the Cooking Channel and Cupcake Wars. The hero had been a shadow character in most of the other books in the series and I knew he needed a story. Once I found the heroine and realized she was the first person to turn him down I knew there was a story there.
What techniques do you use to keep the writing flowing as you work on a book? I don’t really have any special techniques. I’m a draft writer and start with one that roughs out the story usually mainly a lot of dialogue and some scenes really sketchy. like they make love, there is a fight. Then in subsequent drafts the story fleshes out. There is a plot, a character and a setting draft. Then I revise. 
What are your hobbies? These days my main hobby is reading. There used to be things like long walks, Yoga, doing horoscopes, composing music but at 80 years I’ve decided I need a rest.
Tell us a bit about your family? I’ve been married to the same man for 55 years. He’s a retired psychiatrist who has never tried to cure my obsession with the printed word. We have four children, two boys and two girls though we had to adopt the last daughter so we could have a matched set. My youngest daughter is bi-racial. There are seven grandchildren, four are biracial and three are adopted Chinese. As my oldest granddaughter once said, “We have a mixed up family.”
If food plays a role in your books, would you like to share a favorite recipe of yours or of a character in the book? While food does play a part in many of my stories, I am not a cook and really have no recipes to share. 
Any advice for other writers? My advice is always the same. Finish the book. Do not get hung up trying to make each page perfect before going on with the story. Until you reach the end you have no idea how many changes you will have to make characters grow and change as do plotsseducing-the-baker
Leave a Reply

