Where do you submit?

How do you find the sites?

Many ask me this. I spend a lot of time looking at magazines, reading, and reading newsletters that list magazines that have calls for work.

Study

I study the submission guidelines and often review the bio of the judge in contests. If the work of the judge is fabulist and I am a realist, then….. chances are slim I will be chosen.

Respect

Never submit to a journal you do not respect. Why would you want your work there? A woman in my poetry group once noted I had published a short story in a journal that had rejected her poetry. “My work is so much better than what they use,” she told me. “I was very insulted when they rejected my poems.” Aside from the fact that she managed to insult me while also “dissing” the publication, she was wrong on many levels. Her work is very traditional and very “literary”. This magazine is more of a populist in its selection of pieces to publish. Its not a matter of “good” or “bad” but of different styles.  However if you do not respect the style the editors chose to print, why would you submit. You will not win them over to your more literary approach and vice versa. I don’t expect the Literary mags to publish my genre works. So, take a breath, study, read, and submit–to journals you respect

Leave a Reply

