Hard work

Writing is hard work. The basic idea is only part of it.
A few years ago, I wrote a piece about an incident we had encountering a collards farmer.
The story is a great anecdote at dinner, but as a written piece, it kind of flopped.
Then, I saw the publication, Microfiction Monday. The piece was already short, only about 500 words, but they wanted even smaller. So…I revised it downward which forced me to analyze the story arc and simplify–eliminating parts of the actual experience and transferring only the basic idea that others might find interesting.
Voila! acceptance!
If any of you would like my recipe for Italian Collard greens, let me know in the comments

The story will run on August 4 in the online mag, Microfiction Monday.
http://microfictionmondaymagazine.com/

Keep up with my works and tips on writing at this blog and
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Joan-Leotta-Author-and-Story-Performer/188479350973

Leave a Reply

