Opportunity. If it knocked, I missed it

Unlike the doorbell ringing by the UPS man (which for many months went unnoticed due to a broken doorbell) no packages or notes about pacakages are left when you miss an opportunity.
For instance, I just learned about the onthesamepagefestival. They had a contest–open to all, no fee, NC connections—check, check, check.
Oops . Deadline July 7.
More than 20 days ago.
Sigh.
Now, I subscribe to a number of feeds that offer me deadlines, but I have become complacent in using them–esp about NC opportunities. I thought I had it covered. Today I did some random exploration and found this one that I missed. You can’t publish if you don’t know the opportunity is there. SO, again I will widen my search. And I commit to sharing what I find. I’ve been wanting to make my blog of more value to writers and tellers. Karen Chace is my heroine among storytellers. Her blog is the very best for information on how and why and chock full of stories we can tell for various occasions.
I doubt I will have much more to offer there, but I will try to augment her in this area as well.
For writers, we need tips and opportunities to submit our work–contests to challenge us and more. One thing you will find little of is the “Slam”. I hate the term. Perhaps if someone convinces me that a poetry SLAM instead of a READING is a good thing, I will change, but for now…
So, if a link says its listings are proprietary, then I will simply offer that link to their list.
If I come across a listing on my own, as I did today (but before it expires!!!!)
I will share.
Writing and story have given me so much. I want to give back, to share, to help more of you become published and or perform your work. Excelsior!!!

Leave a Reply

