Challenges–A way to grow your writing–it’s how I sharpen my skills

Some people wonder why I write so many different kinds of things–I read widely as well, btw.

One of the reasons I write so many different types of literature from the journalistic article to poetry to essays to short stories to novels, to non-fiction books is the challenge. I’ve just begun to work in essays and I find I am enjoying the rigors of flash fiction as well. Seeing how flash fiction differs from poetry, even prose poetry (a contradiction in terms????) sharpens my senses and brings on a rush of productive juices.

I just discovered another challenge–the vignette. Oh, we all write them into our long poems, our novels and even our short stories–often we string together a series of vignettes to tell about our past, our college years, etc.

But I have never before considered the art of this particular form on its own. So, I’m sharing this with all of you–my next challenge–the vignette–and there is a publication outlet–alwaqys important to me (I love an audience–the performer in me.)

Our Mission

The world of literature nowadays is so diverse, open-minded and thriving in experimental works, that there doesn’t seem to be any single form of written art missing from it … you would think. But there is.

The vignette.

It’s rare for a literary magazine to accept the “vignette” as a publishable piece of literature. Why? Because it is not a “proper story.” We beg to differ.

So, what is a vignette?
from this website:

“Vignette” is a word that originally meant “something that may be written on a vine-leaf.” It’s a snapshot in words. It differs from flash fiction or a short story in that its aim doesn’t lie within the traditional realms of structure or plot. Instead, the vignette focuses on one element, mood, character, setting or object. It’s descriptive, excellent for character or theme exploration and wordplay. Through a vignette, you create an atmosphere.

Vine Leaves, will entwine you in atmosphere; wrap you in a world where literature ferments and then matures …

Leave a Reply

