Audience Reaction!

The performing side of me receives instant feedback, even hugs, after a performance. Writers are seldom so rewarded. at least not simple writers of journalistic works, lower level fiction and poetry writers–ones without a large following. So, when a fan writes, that’s big stuff to me!  Especially to let me know that my words have encouraged them.

Usually I tell adapted folklore and perform one woman shows scripted from diaries and other material from women in history. I rarely share personal stories on stage. Same with my writing–usually, non-fiction or fiction in mystery or romance genres, even my poetry wraps personal experience in metaphor. Only a few real-life stories are ever shared beyond the confines of my dinner table. However, a real experience of mine, crafted as an essay was recently accepted by Chicken soup–a book that recently came out. And voila! So excited! Chicken Soup for the Soul gave out my story , Saying Good-by in their newsletter yesterday! My story is in Chicken Soup for the Soul: Miraculous Messages from Heaven: 101 Stories of Eternal Love, Powerful Connections, and Divine Signs from Beyond.
Because it went out to their large list, I received fan mail from some lovely people who bothered to look me up on the internet!
So pleased to know my sharing a true story from my own life affected people positively. Perhaps I will start telling more real stories in my performances. And in my writing! reactions were from far and wide, from Saudi Arabia to small town USA.

One response to “Audience Reaction!

  1. So happy to finallly be able to receive your blog, will love to read your stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

