School Days

Last night, while going through some old papers I found the brochure (still in the postmarked envelope) my mother requested from Ursuline Academy in Pittsburgh (305 S. Winebiddle Ave, now the WALDORF SCHOOL). The front says, This is the school for your daughter–and indeed it was my shelter from the world, my incubator for talent and ethics for eight wonderful years.

I also found the correspondence between her and the head administrator (my mom kept carbon copies of her typed letters) concerning my first tuition payments and the cab arrangements that would be needed to transport me to and from the school, a long distance from our home, esp since my mom worked, and not that uncommon in those days in the city.

They sent me to a private school hoping I would be taught religion (but I would have had that at the parochial school one block away also) and I am not sure why else. My love for Ursuline began on the first day and continues. I did not go to the high school . By 1961 the high school was so small, my parents and I agreed it was limited academically. The foundation tho had been laid for future confidence and success by the wonderful sisters I had. When you are considering back to school or first school or new school–think and pray about what you want for your child, what the school may or may not provide and how you will balance what the school provides with what you teach and offer at home.

I’ve spoken with many whose elementary school experiences scarred them instead of encouraged them. Where parental involvement was high, the scars are less visible. In my case, a loving tho not involved home, allowed the lessons of the school to sink in and  reinforced them.

Leave a Reply

