Thinking About the Unthinkable-the role of art

A friend and I are dialoguing about war. She is living in a war zone. We are sharing our thoughts on the subject via poetry, one email at a time. An outlet for her and for me. She is living in a war zone, I live in a hurricane zone and just finished with the threat of Andrea, the tropical storm that is now on its way north to harass my daughter. Art is helping us both to deal with our fears and think about our situations in spiritual terms, without the distraction of politics or the physical danger that each presents–more so for her. I keep her in my prayers. The poetry allows me to hold it all in my head without going crazy with worry–to speak my fears aloud, to affirm in writing my trust in God for her life and our safety too.

Poetry, visual arts, performance arts–so important.

Leave a Reply

