Sometimes you feel like a nut…

Part I  Review of Tropical Traditions 100 Percent Virgin Coconut Oil

Sorry this is being posted a day late–I simply forgot to press the publish button–I actually wrote it a day ahead!

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

I chose to write a review but not to sponsor a free giveaway.

Coconut–one of the great culinary gifts of the tropics! Recently a friend at church began touting the joys of using coconut oil in cooking. I listened and went searching for some. I found the company Tropical traditions and they offered me a full jar of coconut oil (it comes in hardened form , sort of like a soft Crisco) in a glass jar. Does not need refrigeration, even after opening but should not  be in direct sunlight.

My friend uses the oil for everything from putting it on her face to cooking with it in baked goods, well everything for which she would use an oil.

I’ve given it two tests so far. The oil scored great on one and not so great on the other. Let me explain.

I used the oil instead of butter to make the sweet potatoes with curry that I served on Thanksgiving. It seemed odd to see the little white mounds of oil on top of the potatoes when I put them in the oven, but when they came out–yum!

Yesterday I made scrambled eggs. Usually for these I use butter or olive oil. The taste of the coconut oil came through in the eggs and I did NOt like it. Not horrible, but not what I life. Full disclosure–I’m 100 percent Italian and use olive oil for almost everything, but I usually use butter in eggs, oil when I want to be healthy.

I plan to try the coconut oil in cookies before the end of the week, so consider this part one of the review of the oil. So far, I would say that in a situation where I would use what I call a neutral oil–vegetable oil (non-olive) or in a mixed product that has other spices, coconut oil is good. I have a strong taste preference for olive oil , tho in things where the taste of the oil becomes part of the dish–as in my scrambled eggs.

Here are the websites where you can go to find out more about tropical traditions products:

http://www.tropicaltraditions.com/virgin_coconut_oil.htm

http://www.tropicaltraditions.com

Leave a Reply

