Meet and Greet

Saw a bunch of people lined up to hear a famous band–I saw them on TV.

Meeting, not just hearing famous people can be an inspiring experience for children. My children still remember meeting Gunther Gabel Williams, best lion tamer ever, when I took them backstage at the circus (I was interviewing him for an article for a DC newspaper).

I still remember meeting Pearl Buck at a coffee  for about fifteen students on my college  campus. My cousin got to meet Corrie Ten Boom. Pivotal times.

If you can’t invite a person who excels in his or her field to your dinner table, invite them through discussion. Talk about great ideas, great people, great literature and art–even with little ones–at the dinner table. You will find great rewards later.

Leave a Reply

