Madelines

This is a literary treat. I’ve tasted many a madeline–have never found them worthy of poetry as Proust did –until Monday night when I made my own.

This version is also gluten free. They are AMAZING. I can say this because the great outcome is not due to my skill–it is simply the recipe that deserves kudos. Nice thing for those with allergies is that this is also gluten free.

So light. Nutty flavor (from the chestnut flour), Hint of sweet (just  IT honey and a bit of sugar) and tho the technique is a bit fussy, these are wroth it–yes you do need a madeline pan. I overstuffed it and made giant madelines and then proceeded to burn the cookies in the second panful so badly I had to throw them out but that was my bad, not anything to do with the recipe.

Try them! (see pinterest for photo on my food board)

Italian Chestnut Flour Madelines–from the web with my adaptations

1 cup plus 4 T chestnut flour (I used 1 generous cup)

1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled)

1/2 cup (scant) white sugar

3 large eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 T honey

Madeline pan

 

Melt butter and let cool until room temp. Mix flour and bp and set aside. Put eggs in bowl and beat. Add sugar and hone and beat again until almost white and light. Add the flour. Mix until incorporated. Add butter . Mix until incorp.

Cover and put in frig for two hours.

Preheat oven to 420

Grease madeline pan

fill each mold 3/4 full and cook for 4-6 min. Then reduce tem to 350 and cook for another 4-5 minutes. Remove from molds, Cool on racks

Makes 18 -20 madelines unless you make them giant sized as I did (I got 15)

 

 

Leave a Reply

